Surprisingly Summery

What a difference a week makes. This time last week I ventured out into the wilds of ‘Storm Angus’ to grab some foliage for my first attempt at In a Vase on Monday.

This week the sun is shining and it’s a chilly but beautiful late Autumn day. So I was able to take my time and really look at what I have in the garden, rather than just grabbing the first few things I saw and running back inside!

Looking at this little selection, you wouldn’t believe it’s December in three days’ time would you? It makes me think of early summer.

img_2219

Here we have just three things: Nigella seed heads, Salvia farinacea’Victoria’ and Erigeron’Stallone’.

img_2221

img_2220

Thank you to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for providing the inspiration to go out on a cold day and enjoy the tail-end of the year in my garden. Why not give it a go and join in with In a Vase on Monday; you might be surprised what you find.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Cathy says:

    I am glad you revised your link as I was trying to fathom out why I couldn’t reach you! I shall go back into the original comment and change it for you in a little while. Picking for a vase at this time of year really makes us notice what’s available in our gardens and realise that just a few sprigs of something still looks pretty in a vase – or lots of foliage and seedheads and the like as in last week’s vase. I haven’t had much success with nigella and sadly have no seedheads for vases, but I shall keep trying – and this salvia hardy? I am trying to get my head round which ones are reliably so. Thanks for joining in again, Eleanor

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for visiting Cathy, I’m glad you found me. No, I don’t think the salvia is hardy; it seems it’s often grown as an annual but that sounds like a waste to me! We are due a cold night here and an even colder one tomorrow so I shall be digging it up in the failing light this evening and putting it in my little coldframe next to the house.

      Like

      1. Cathy says:

        And daytime temps won’t rise much either…

        Like

        1. Indeed! This may just be the changing of the seasons.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Christina says:

    Your lovely vase does have the quality of spring rather than autumn, which must be an advantage in these dark gloomy days.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Christina, it’s certainly nice to have some blooms to look at!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your vase would be right at home in Southern California!

    Like

    1. Oh yes I can just imagine Kris! We are about to get freezing temperatures here, I expect Autumn/Fall in SoCal is quite different.

      Like

  4. Cathy says:

    Wonderful finds for the end of November! You must have a sheltered spot in your garden! 😉

    Like

    1. Thank you Cathy. It is a sheltered suburban garden, yes. I did pot the salvia up yesterday though as we had a below-freezing night. I think their season has finally finished!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Eliza Waters says:

    Lovely vase! That first shot would make a nice photo card.

    Like

  6. What a lovely selection of flowers. Erigeron is such a winner for this time of year, as are salvias.

    Like

    1. Thank you 😊 I think I appreciate the Erigeron a lot more in a vase than when it’s sprawling on the ground- its a very low growing one and easy to miss!

      Like

Leave a Reply

