The Colour Purple

This week a simple selection of leaves from Heuchera ‘Palace Purple’. I bought three of these plants in two litre pots for the bargain price of £1.50 each from B&Q last week while looking for Christmas lights and some ready-mixed plaster of all things.

img_2288

Their year-round colour is cheering up the shady side of the garden under the fig plant, and these cut leaves are cheering up my house with their beautiful colour.

img_2290

In a Vase on Monday is hosted by Cathy at Rambling in the Garden and anyone can join in to show what they currently have growing in their own garden.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Cathy says:

    I nearly picked heuchera leaves for my Glowing Embers but the stems were a little too short to fit in with the others. What a great buy – after my year of abstention I will be able to take advantage of bargains like this again soon…! 😉 I wonder what you were going to plaster … (plastering being another of my fun occupations)?

    Like

    1. Well that’s good to know- perhaps you have some tips?! I have a patch on one wall in the bedroom that needs skimming after stripping off some wallpaper; not big enough to want to pay for a plaster but not small enough to paint over and ignore.

      Like

      1. Cathy says:

        Spray the wall first and use a plastering trowel to achieve a thin layer; once it starts drying spray it again and skim with the trowel till it is satisfactorily level. You can always sand it to remove minor defects when it is completely dry

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you so much for the really useful advice Cathy. Hoping to get round to this next week.

          Like

  2. Alison C says:

    The heucheras do have such sumptuous colours they deserve to be looked at closely. I’ve probably got some I could bring in so thanks for that tip. I’ve just bought some tiny plug plants and am very excited about their developing colour.

    Like

    1. That’s great Alison, what types do you have? I am fairly new to Heucheras, I only have Purple Palace but there are some lovely colours available so I think I will be expanding my collection before too long.

      Like

Leave a Reply

