Black {Spot} Monday

img_2337

Sadly I think my pansies have pansy leaf spot, probably Mycocentrospora acerina, which is the type that leaves black spots on the leaves and eventually rots the plant. Since they were planted in brand new compost in hanging baskets (i.e. not in the ground where previous generations of pansies had been) and the spores are apparently not wind-borne, it’s most likely that they were already infected when I bought them. Or at least some were, and it has spread through close contact between plants and the rainy weather we’ve been having.

img_2338

I will spray with fungicide, cut out the infected leaves and see what happens. I would be sad to lose them as they provide lovely colour in hanging baskets either side of my front door (and, of course, I spent good money on them only in October) but as a gardener I am starting to learn to accept you can’t always avoid these things; nature’s way is a lot more powerful than mine.

In a Vase on Monday is hosted by Cathy, who invites gardeners around the world to share what is growing in their garden over on her blog Rambling in the Garden.

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh the sweet faces of pansies are always welcome, especially this time of year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, aren’t they just?

      Like

  2. pbmgarden says:

    You’ve photographed the flowers beautifully. Hope the pansies can recover. (susie)

    Like

    1. Thank you Susie, so do I!

      Like

  3. The flowers look lovely in your arrangement. These garden lessons do get learned but it always seems to be the hard way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Linda. Yes that is usually the way!

      Like

  4. Cathy says:

    That would be a shame to lose them as they are such a vibrant and striking blue at this lean time of year – hopefully you will stop the blackspot in its tracks. You have put them in such pretty little bottles/inkwells/vases today. I have grown winter flowering violas from seed for three years and last year I lost the lot of them to white fly in the greenhouse as I hadn’t planted them out soon enough – hopefully this year they will be OK although 3 years ago they were starting to flower by now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Cathy, I hope so too. I do hope your violas come into flower soon- I’ll look out for them in your Monday vases.

      Like

      1. Cathy says:

        Don’t think it will be soon, though 😦

        Like

  5. These are so pretty – I do hope you manage to rescue them from the blackspot!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, fingers crossed!

      Like

  6. I hope you can get the black spot under control but it is smart of you to bring some inside to enjoy. I did the same thing this week with snapdragons with leaves covered in rust.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Kris. They seem to be doing quite well as cut flowers. Good thinking with the snapdragons!

      Like

  7. Eliza Waters says:

    I love pansies – I hope you can arrest the black spot problem!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Eliza. They are lovely aren’t they? It’s been nice to bring a few indoors and really appreciate the detail of their faces.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. AlisonC says:

    What happy little faces, I really hope they survive.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Alison, me too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

