Ghosts of Gardens Past

I am a few weeks late to be referencing A Christmas Carol but I do think seed heads look just like ghosts of once-beautiful flowers.

This week’s arrangement is a simple one of a few stems of Anthriscus sylvestris (cow parsley) with a seed head of Allium hollandicum.

These images just about sum up the weather we’re having here in the English midlands at the moment; grey and rather bleak but also with a sense of promise; a reminder that Spring is round the corner and the flowers will be back.

Every Monday I share photos of something from the garden or local surroundings in a vase (or tin or pot) to take part in Cathy’s popular meme ‘In a Vase on Monday’. Anyone can join in to share what they’ve gathered and Cathy is always very welcoming to newcomers.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    I appreciate the beauty of seed heads as I make my rounds and since our winters are so long, I often purposely leave them standing in the fall, so that I have something to look at. Umbels are always a favorite!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too Eliza, I am always glad at this time of year that I managed to resist the urge in late Autumn to cut everything down to ground level in the spirit of ‘tidying’!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Cathy says:

    Yes, the fact that it is so much milder has brought out the first blossom on the winter honesuckles – and the sunshine on Friday and Saturday afternoons was lovely, wasn’t it, assuming it reached you too? I agree with you on teh ghostly quality of your vase – I really appreciate seed heads and the like these days, and I suppose am always aware of any new potential for vases. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, the sun did indeed reach us here and was certainly a most welcome change. Here’s hoping for some more soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Cathy says:

    Seed heads are essential vase ingredients for me too at the moment. Unlike you, thoughts of spring are being suppressed here, as I think we might have a long wait this year in our part of the world! I love botanical art, and your picture is lovely with this simple arrangement. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Cathy. I do hope your garden will recover from the long spell of bad weather. I expect your plants are used to it, do you have to be very selective about what you grow?

      Like

      1. Cathy says:

        Absolutely. Last winter was mild and I was weak in spring and bought an agapanthus… the poor thing has been in and out,in and out all winter! (No greenhouse I’m afraid). I have to reckon with permafrost every few years, and temperatures down to -17Β°C. And then our hot summers mean I have to be very selective as I rarely water the garden. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Wow, you do have challenging conditions. It must make it all the more rewarding when you find things that thrive!

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Seed heads and ghosts are lovely this time of the year acting as a reminder of what has gone and what is to come. Lovely

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

