Spring in Sight

I do like the scent and bountiful flowers of hyacinths but I can’t help thinking there is a major flaw in the way they flop when they bloom. It does grate on me to see them lounging about prostrate.

One day I will remember to stake them as they grow; with these white ones I resorted to cutting the flower stems and placing in water, though I know they won’t last as long this way.

img_0012

They are combined with some forced narcissi and some catkins (male) and cones (female) from a nearby tree- probably an alder, though don’t take my word for it as my ability to identify trees is not what I’d like it to be.

It’s lovely to see spring flowers creeping into people’s In a Vase on Monday offerings. This is such an exciting time of year for gardeners as the days lengthen and the bulbs poke out of the ground. See what everyone else is posting to the meme over on Cathy’s blog Rambling in the Garden.

 

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Cathy says:

    I am no expert either but I do know that these are alder πŸ˜‰ My indoor hyacinths were staked (sort of) and still flopped! I love the tall vase that your pretties are in – is it pottery? – so thanks for sharing them all

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Cathy, I’m not really sure what it’s made of but I got it from Poundland of all places!

      Like

      1. Cathy says:

        Well that’s definitely a bargain – and looks like pottery anyway

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, isn’t it a shame that hyacinths flop so badly! I suppose they are just so overbred… they make me think of those dogs that can’t breath through their wrinkled-up faces, poor things. Perhaps a few choice twigs among the bulbs might be the trick.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes they are just like those dogs! Christina makes an interesting comment, I wonder whether growing them more ‘naturally’ outside might help.

      Like

      1. Oh yes, quite possibly. I usually grow mine in tubs surrounded by tulips and other more upright bulbs, which perhaps aid support.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Alyse says:

    Eleanor–this is lovely!
    Greetings from Oregon,
    ~Alyse

    Like

    1. Thank you Alyse, nice to ‘meet’ you.
      I was in Ohio (Akron) last June.

      Like

  4. Kris P says:

    I can imagine the lovely scent! I always admire Hyacinths when I see them but they don’t grow well outdoors here.

    Like

    1. Ah that’s a shame Kris. Where are you?
      I have never tried them outside but I think I will next autumn.

      Like

  5. Christina says:

    I think anything forced into growth has a tendency to flop as all it’s strength has gone into growing quickly. I haven’t noticed that Hyacinths in the garden flop in the same way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, a good point Christina. I have never grown them in the garden as I’ve assumed they’d flop but perhaps I should give it a go.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Sam says:

    The hyacinths that grow outside in my garden are quite sturdy. Lovely late-winter/early spring vase!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sam. I’m definitely feeling encouraged to grow these outdoors in future

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Eliza Waters says:

    I love the smell of hyacinths. Your vase this week has me looking forward to a pot of mine that are just emerging. Soon, soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oo, looking forward to seeing them Eliza!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Cathy says:

    That’s a lovely sight – catkins, daffs and hyacinths. Aaah, sigh! Love the tall vase too. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing your first signs of spring!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Cathy. Glad to bring some brightness to your day in the depths of your cold winter!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

