Worth the wait

The snowdrops have opened! Last week I was lamenting their slowness, though I don’t think I am alone there, a lot of the people whose garden stories I follow also seem to have snowdrops that have been reluctant to show their faces. I do like them like this too though, they remind me of a chandelier.

img_0155-1

I didn’t plant these snowdrops. We moved into this house last year, we had our first viewing in February and I remember seeing snowdrops in the lawn then, so this year I have been eagerly looking out for their return, and one morning a few weeks ago in a rare daylight hour at home I spied some dots of white at the far end of the garden and was thrilled to go out and see them. They have stayed like this for weeks now, showing no signs of opening up.

Well, we’ve had a few hours of sunshine in the last few days and I think that might be what’s tempted them to open; perhaps they know this means the pollinating insects are more likely to be out? Whatever it is, I know that nature knows best and my impatience against the natural course wasn’t going to change their minds about when best to open.

However, now that they are finally open I can have a go at identifying them. The ones in the lawn are a single, I think probably regular Galanthus nivalis.

In the border there are a few doubles, I think they are Galanthus nivalis f. pleniflorus ‘Flore Pleno’. These are the ones I cut to bring inside for this week’s In a Vase on Monday, along with some of the ivy that is romping up my garage wall.

img_0203

In a Vase on Monday is hosted by Cathy at Rambling in the Garden and unites gardeners around the world to share what’s growing wherever they are.

34 Comments Add yours

  1. jenmac13 says:

    Reblogged this on Doing The Plan and commented:
    In a vase on Monday: beautiful snowdrops from the Warwickshire gardener 🙂

    Like

  2. You are quite right, they are spellbinding. Love your little vase too.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Marian. I’d love to say it was a vintage heirloom but it was new from a high street store a couple of years ago.

      Like

  3. Christina says:

    So pretty, and as you say “worth the wait”.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Christina! I know your garden is many weeks ahead, snowdrops must be on their way out?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Christina says:

        I only have a very few snowdrops planted last autumn. I don’t know if they will survive the hot dry summers.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. No, it’s certainly not their natural habitat is it?!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Christina says:

            They grow naturally locally but higher in the hills. Time will tell.

            Like

  4. Linda B. says:

    I love the doubles. They make much more of a statement in a vase.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They remind me of little cabbages inside, Linda! Definitely a statement in miniature 😊

      Like

  5. Cathy says:

    The ivy is the perfect combination to match the colours of the snowdrops – you will enjoy this vase after all the waiting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Cathy, I certainly will. I’ll make the most of it as I imagine the house is far too warm for something adapted to flower in winter and they may not last long!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Kris P says:

    The ivy is a nice complement. I don’t know why I never think to use some of the ivy enveloping my back slope as a floral accent – maybe now I will!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Kris, and I’m glad to have given you the idea- I look forward to seeing some ivy in your photos! 😉 To be honest I grabbed this as the last minute not really intending it for this photo but for something else, so I have to admit it’s a happy accident 😊

      Like

  7. Peter Herpst says:

    Congratulations on your beautiful inheritance! Snowdrops and ivy make a perfect combination!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Peter, I am so pleased they are there. I had never grown snowdrops in my previous garden, but they are such a treat at this time of year.

      Like

  8. Alison C says:

    They are beautiful open or closed and so worth the wait. They go beautifully with the ivy too.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree Alison, they are lovely both ways and when closed you have the lovely anticipation of them opening. Especially now I know what they look like inside!

      Like

  9. Eliza Waters says:

    The ivy picks up the galanthus colors perfectly – lovely vase!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Eliza, I do like how they complement eachother. This quite pale ivy is very pretty I think and it does a great job of masking one very ugly garage wall! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Very much worth the wait – they are lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you agree! Thank you for stopping by the blog and leaving a comment 🙂

      Like

  11. Cathy says:

    They are gorgeous displayed in that tiny vase with the ivy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Cathy! The ivy was a last minute grab without much thought to be honest but I’m glad I did!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Elizabeth says:

    It wasn’t so long ago I was also commenting on that, but for one very lonely flower, our snowdrops were a no show but this week they are here at last. Your clump is beautiful and well worth the wait. Your tiny vase is delightful and shows of the double ones to perfection!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words Elizabeth. I don’t know whether they actually are late opening or we are all just becoming more impatient! This is my first year with snowdrops in the garden so I have no previous experience to compare with.

      Like

  13. Anna says:

    It’s always amazing how the flowers of snowdrops and other bulbs suddenly materialise overnight. The ivy leaves are a perfect companion. I’m sure we have the same ivy growing up our garage wall 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t it, Anna- and it’s such a lovely surprise 😊

      Like

  14. jolanda says:

    What a great idea to comb one the snowdrops with the variegated ivy. I wish I had thought of that. I shall have to make an extra arrangement for Cathy’s Monday In-a-Vase tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. jolanda says:

    Me again Eleanor – I know those double snowdrops as G. Pewsey. And I did get them from Pewsey gardens in Oxon years ago.
    Help me out with the name of that Ivy – it’s name used to drip of my tongue – but no more 😦
    I thought it was Gloire de something or other, but I can’t find it in my books.

    Like

    1. Hi, I will look up G.Pewsey, thank you for the tip!
      Sadly I can’t name the ivy, it has been here much longer than I’ve lived in the house and there’s no sign of a label. I’m sorry as I think it’s a lovely one.

      Like

  16. It is the hardest time of year, as all good gardeners are desperate to pull every plant and flower up and out of the soil to enjoy! Lovely snow drops . Mine are just up too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it’s hard to resist even when I know they will last longer in the garden!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

