Batsford Arboretum

I am spending a long weekend in the Cotswolds and yesterday I had a couple of hours exploring Batsford Arboretum in the grounds of the childhood home of the Mitford sisters.

The style of the plot, which rolls up the side of a Cotswold hill and has some fabulous views, is heavily influenced by the Far East and there are acers, bamboos and cherries throughout, and a series of streams, pools and waterfalls.


There were loads of spring bulbs out: Narcissus, snowdrops, winter aconites and a few Chionodoxa.


Plus cyclamen and primroses

And some deliciously-scented Daphne. This has gone on my plant wishlist.


If you love Hellebores you’ll love Batsford at this time of year. I wish I’d managed to get more photos, they are so tricky with their downward-hanging faces but there were so many beautiful single and double ones in a range of colours.

There’s also a garden centre where I had a mooch round and bought some seeds I’ve had on my wishlist.ย I recommend a visit to Batsford if you’re in the area; the price (ยฃ7.90) is pretty reasonable and dogs (on leads) are welcome. In early spring it was lovely and I bet it will be even better in a couple of weeks with more blossom out. It is also said to be stunning in Autumn, and with all the acers and cherries I don’t doubt it.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    Lovely spot. I’m a fan of Daphne as well. I just wish its bloom lasted longer!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah that’s a shame Eliza. How long do they last?

      Like

      1. Eliza Waters says:

        If it warms up quickly, just a week. Cooler temps yield a bit longer. Like lilacs, one can never get enough!

        Like

Leave a Reply

