In a Vase on Monday

I am very fortunate to have had purple anemones in flower in my garden pretty much constantly for four months thanks to successional sowing- the current crop was planted in about March.

Also in my vases today are cornflower ‘Blue Boy’, sweetpea ‘Mammoth’ and an annual larkspur. All of these were sown in October, overwintered in my small plastic ‘greenhouse‘ on the patio and planted out in late April and early May.

File_000 (5).jpeg

The cosmos on the right is ‘Double Click Cranberries’, started from seed in late March. It’s the first time I’ve grown this and it will definitely go onto my list to grow again next year. I also started off and grew ‘Double Click Snow Puff’ at exactly the same time and in exactly the same conditions, but I seem to have fewer plants and they are quite a way behind in their flowering.

Finally, the bright colours are set off by the acid green of Alchemilla mollis (remember that time in January when my neighbour gave me this?) and (unknown) spirea foliage.

It’s been quite a while since I took part in the weekly challenge set by Cathy at Rambling in the Gardenย to share a home-grown arrangement on a Monday, but today the inspiration has finally taken me to get back into it, and I look forward to seeing what everyone else has in bloom this week.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Cath says:

    Very pretty! A good reminder for me to plant some cornflower seeds, and I feel better about being slow planting my anemones ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Yes, it seems the anemones don’t mind too much about when they’re planted. I’m wondering how many months of the year I could have them in flower if I sowed successionally throughout the year! I hope you enjoy yours, whenever it is they decide to flower.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Cathy says:

    Anemones in June sound wonderful – and good to see your Click Cranberries which I too have grown from seed for the first time and are just coming into flower, several weeks later than others sown at the same time. Thanks for sharing your lovely little vases today – and welcome back!

    Like

    1. I wonder whether it’s the fact that they’re doubles that slows them down, as there’s more petals to build before they open. Thanks Cathy, it’s nice to be back.

      Like

      1. Cathy says:

        Yes, I wonder – I certainly like the look of CC so far

        Liked by 1 person

  3. That Cosmos is wonderful. I never would have recognized it as that plant if you had not pointed it out. I will have to consider adding it as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it looks almost like a dahlia I think. Definitely worth a try as it’s a pretty easy and fast-growing annual.

      Like

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    A charming trio โ€“ I love these colours!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Alison C says:

    Gorgeous vibrant colours in your pretty vases.

    Like

  6. Cathy says:

    The cranberry cosmos is gorgeous and I am so envious… I sowed some too but I think they were all devoured by slugs and snails when planted out! (There may be one left somewhere, so I will keep my fingers crossed!) Pretty little vases too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Sorry to hear about the fate of your Cosmos, Cathy. I do hope one or two has survived and will give you a nice surprise when it blooms.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

