In A Vase on Monday: All white with me

It may be July (already- how did that happen?!) but there is a very cool feel to my vase this week, which I think sums up the way last month ended and this one began.

Again I remind myself not to complain because the rain was much needed by the garden and the lack of scorching sun is better for the plants too.

File_000 (8)This vase contains mainly annuals: Ammi majus, Cosmos ‘Double Click Snow Puff’, annual larkspur and sweet peas (all of which I grew from seed) annual mallow (grown from seed by my Mum) and the star at the front, Agrostemma githago (Corncockle) (grown from seed by my Mum-in-law). They are joined by an unknown white perennial salvia that I rescued from the bargain bin at B&Q late last Autumn that has rewarded me handsomely in its first year.File_002 (3)The Cosmos (on the right with the yellow centre in the below photograph) is the sowing partner of ‘Double Click Cranberries’ which I featured last week. It may be pure coincidence but I’ve found Cranberries had a much better survival rate from seed and is blooming much more profusely. File_000 (9)In a Vase on Monday is hosted by Cathy at Rambling in the Garden, who encourage gardeners around the world to share what they are growing, and this week has a selection of glorious and riotous colour that couldn’t be more different to my own but is truly a joyous celebration of the bounty of summer.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. I love pure white flowers. My favourite I think. Very beautiful Vase this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind comment Haile, and how lovely to discover another fellow Midlands blogger, and a Birmingham-dweller at that (as I was for 8 years until last year).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Cathy says:

    My Goodness, that was a shock! Once I got over that, I was astounded by the purity of it all – everything is just so WHITE! The double click cosmos is gorgeous and so much more attractive than Purity, so that’s one I shall be trying next year – and the detail on the corncockle…WOW! The whole vase is stunning Eleanor, especially on a hot day (although it is warm rather than hot here today) – thanks for sharing

    Like

    1. Thank you Cathy for your lovely words. I too was amazed by the corncockle when I actually studied it in detail.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. pbmgarden says:

    Such a beautiful, clean and fresh look you’ve achieved.The restrained color palette is calm and serene.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind comment.

      Like

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    I love this bouquet – the monochrome makes the details stand out, esp. the star in the Agrostemma. Delicate and lovely!

    Like

    1. Thank you Eliza- mother nature puts so much effort into every little flower doesn’t she?

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Kris P says:

    It’s a beautiful arrangement, and as cool and fresh as you described it. I adore that Agrostemma, a plant I’ve never grown. I must correct that error!

    Like

    1. Thank you Kris. I’d never grown it either, I had to look it up when I was given the seedlings to find out what I was getting!

      Like

  6. Cathy says:

    Fabulous, and so fresh for summer too. Makes me think of Victorian ladies in white dresses with parasols!

    Like

    1. Thanks Cathy, I can see exactly what you mean! Ammi is, after all, known as ‘Queen Anne’s lace’ (though she was a little earlier than Victorian!).

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Patsi says:

    As soon as I saw your header I knew this post would be precious. Loving all the oh so pure white…angelic.

    Like

    1. Thank you Patsi, I’m glad you like it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

